How to: Get Unstuck

Move your body, dance

This one is a major for me and I’ve only just discovered it.  Sad but true.  If I’m stuck I now MOVE.  And that means stuck with anything, life, writing, finances, any kind of problem, I move.

Moving means just that – it doesn’t have to be fancy, do whatever floats your boat.  Jiggle in your chair if you can’t do anything else.  If you don’t believe it works watch this video of Jesse Shand and be incredibly inspired.  It’s 21 minutes but worth the time.

Some of the things I do are:

  1.  Dance to music in my head, and not just in the privacy of my own home.  One of the beauties of being over 50 is that you being to not give a sh** about what other people think.  It’s incredibly freeing.
  2. Put some real dance music on and go for it.  LOUDLY!
  3. Short bursts of high intensity exercise – burpees, press-ups, star jumps, anything.
  4. Go for a run or a good long walk.

Whatever happens I come back refreshed and often with a solution, or at the very least I feel a whole heap better about the situation.  My non-scientific explanation for this is that it gets you out of your head and back into your body and for some reason this really WORKS.  Scientists would probably say that it’s something to do with the movement revving up endorphins in the brain.  Who cares.  Just try it.  It really freakin’ works!

May this be of use to you

Robx

 

 

Leave a Reply

