How To Find A Mentor For Free

mentor, online, finances, free, learning, self help,

Two words:  Look online.  Back in the day to find a mentor,  the standard advice was to do your research and find someone in your industry that you respected and whom you thought might be helpful and then write to phone them with a request to mentor you.  I’ve always found this approach cringe worthy.  I really really really dislike the whole attitude of asking someone to be your mentor when you don’t know them because it’s an enormous ask and a significant time commitment for the other person, so why should they bother, what’s in it for them?

We are so fortunate now that we can access the world’s knowledge online.  We don’t need to awkwardly ask a stranger for a favour to be our mentor.   There is knowledge from the world’s greatest in any given sphere of accomplishment online at the drop of an internet connection.  Lucky old us –  we can now learn for free from so many amazing people.  I need repetition for something to stick, so  I can watch You Tube videos or listen to podcasts over and over and over again until I’ve got the point.   Fortunately I don’t need to go to the thousand dollar seminar ten times.   And the wonderful thing is that this is all available to us for zilch, nada, nothing.

Apart from a bad Amazon Kindle habit I hardly ever pay for information online – most of what I need is free and I can try out dozens of different options to see which work best for me and are aligned with my values.   Every day sees another offer for an e-course come into my inbox or Facebook feed, most of which are from people I’ve never heard of and I really do wonder why they think I should buy their courses.   At present I’m happy to ignore the whole lot and do my own research until I’ve developed a little more discretion, and a little more clarity about the exact things I need to learn and who I want to learn them from.

Personal finances and investing are my weak point, so I am investigating sources of information for that right now.  What do I want from a  mentor?  Someone to copy, someone to tell me where I’m going wrong, to point me in the right direction, to kick me in the butt if necessary, to inspire me.  Most definitely to inspire me.

But most of all mentors are people I’d like to curl up with on a comfy sofa in the corner of a room with a good bottle of red wine and have a long and far reaching chat with.  It’s that simple.  Imagine doing that with Tim Ferriss or Oprah or my favourite of the moment – Tony Robbins.  They’re not that special or different from the rest of us, they don’t have superpowers – they’ve just been through tough times and they’ve made it out the other side successfully.  We can learn from them.  The only real difference is that they didn’t give up on their dreams.  These people grind it out, are focused and know exactly where they’re going.

It’s not just the big name celebrities who are worth watching/listening to either- there are loads of videos on You Tube from  ordinary people doing cool stuff and living their dreams.  We just need to watch listen and learn and realize that if anyone has done this before then we can too.  

So check out You Tube, Reddit and Podcast Addict.  Dive down that internet wormhole and see where it leads you.  Listen, learn and most of all TAKE ACTION.  I wish you well my friend.

May this be of use to you

Rob

 

 

Leave a Reply

