Why I’m Focusing On The Fundamentals And Why You Should Too!

fundamentals  money basics everyday

I’m listening to my teacher/mentor Tony Robbins every morning and one of his teachings which has really struck home is to focus on the fundamentals.  Obvious right?  Ha, not for some of us!  I’m one of those people who can “get” an idea intellectually quickly.  I can analyze it, discuss it, play around with it, and build on it and move on to the next thing. But do it?   Yeah right.  So there’s a need to get out of my head, stop planning and take some massive action.

On reflection though, it turns out that I have been focusing on some fundamental stuff this year – my diet and workouts.

This is what I do:  20 push ups, 20 sit ups, 20 squats, 10 attempts at a pistol squat on each leg. Every day up to three times a day.  Plus cardio.  It turns out that these are my physical fundamentals.  My dietary fundamentals are pretty basic.  Don’t eat crap – no sugar, no processed food.  Lots of fruit and veges.  I was beginning to wonder if it was worthwhile and if I needed to change things up, but after listening to Tony Robbins I think I’ll continue to keep it simple and practice these few things until I have them perfected and only then build on them.

When it comes to Social Media it’s all about posting regular, quality content, which is a matter of practice makes perfect.  So I commit to posting every day the best quality content I can possibly produce and researching on how to improve that content.

So the physical stuff is sorted and the social media stuff is sorted, but when it comes to financial stuff what ARE the fundamentals.  How can I focus on them in order to achieve the results I want?  I guess it would have to be three things:

  1. Earn more
  2. Spend less than I earn
  3. Save/invest the rest

This is where it all gets a bit sticky.  Oh shame.  I am a total failure in this department.  The cold hard truth is that I need to earn more and I need to focus on doing it.  Every.  Single. Day.  Otherwise that $100 000 income is but a dream and a pathetic one at that.

So why is this stuff so important?  It’s not about having swimming pools and private jets.  It’s because in attaining our goals we earn self respect.  We learn, we become a different person in the process and because for me anyway, and I suspect for many others we gain freedom.  Freedom to choose.  Freedom to live our lives to their utmost and to become the people we always dreamed of being.

May this be of use to you

Rob

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

