When The Student Is Ready The Teacher Will Appear

Yoda teacher alwayslearning

You know the old adage “when the student is ready the teacher will appear” well I’ve been waiting for my teacher for what seems like ages.  Evidently I must be ready because in the last week or so I’ve encountered so many materials from this one person that I’ve started to feel slightly hunted.  The Universe definitely has a message for me!  Cue my *happy dance* !  Whoop! Whoop!   Its. About. Freaking. Time.

Apparently Tony Robbins is my guru.  I have encountered (and bought) two CD courses, both the manuals (in perfect unused condition) and “Unlimited Power” by Tony Robbins. For the princely sum of NZ$30.  Whoever originally bought these would have paid hundreds.  I’ve long been a fan of Tony Robbins, having read “Awaken the Giant Within” years ago, and I’ve always wanted to attend one of his courses in person, but given the money involved and add on the travel and it’s out of my league right now.  But this is the perfect option as its cost me next to nothing and I can work through in my own time.

To continue to rebuild my life I need to change some of the associations I’ve held for too long, about money, exercise and work, something which I am determined to do.  I’m working hard on it and tracking my goals on a daily basis….Did you know that if you want to earn $100,000 in a year you need to be making $12.50 every single hour?  I didn’t either, but there you go!

So what have I learned so far?

  1.   I’ve learned what scares me
  2. What I get from not following through on those actions
  3. What it will cost me if I don’t follow through
  4. The benefits I will get by taking action on these scary things
  5. Some of the associations I’ve been making with things I have issues with e.g. Money is bad (ugh…. middle class 1960s NZ up-bringing showing through there)
  6. The reasons why I must change
  7. Ways to get myself out of those limiting associations.

For example I have always had a problem about money.  I was taught that it was bad, to want it was wrong and that anyone who had it “stood on other people’s necks” to get it.  You couldn’t get much worse associations than that.  No wonder I’ve always found myself in relatively poorly paid service type jobs.  Just ask a librarian how much they are paid;  take it from me, for the amount of knowledge and training involved it’s terrible.  Compared say, to an engineer especially.

Thanks to Tony Robbins I’m now learning some new associations to do with money – that it’s a power for good, it can be shared, it gives freedom, and control over one’slife.  It can be used to help others.  These are much better, more useful associations. I’m going to take these and use them to rebuild my life better and stronger and more powerfully.  I’ll keep you all posted as to how I get on.

May this be of use to you.

 

Leave a Reply

