What’s my Why???

question-mark-1019993_1280 To quote Eric Thomas  what’s my why?   Why the hell am I writing this blog, baring a whole bunch of stuff and making myself vulnerable in front of a bunch of people I don’t know and probably never will.

To answer that I’m going to have to take a step back in time and explain that just over three years ago I was made redundant. Two weeks beforehand I had graduated with a Masters of Information Studies (librarianship) which had taken four years of blood sweat and toil to achieve, whilst working forty plus hours a week at a demanding job.  Despite all this I loved  what I was doing, and as manager and software administrator for a community library I believed I was making a positive difference in that community.  To say that I was brokenhearted at losing my job  would be an understatement.  I’ve spent the intervening three years wandering the world, amongst other things, and trying to gain some perspective on what happened to me and what on earth do I do next?

Three years of breathing space has given me perspective and the energy to begin again.  Starting from scratch  isn’t something I expected to do in my fifties and I’m figuring things out as I go along. Much of the inspirational-transform-your-career advice I’ve seen lately is aimed at 20 -30 year olds and doesn’t seem to apply to me. So I’m having to rethink everything I took for granted about life, careers and all that. I call this new life my #missiontogreatness because I’m rebuilding it bigger and better and stronger than before.

What I do know for sure is that its time to explore, time to push the boundaries and find out what I’m capable of and do it for ME. I know that I no longer want my livelihood, and my self esteem to rest in the hands of others. I know that it’s not time to rest on my laurels, wait for retirement (whatever that is) and “settle down.” I know that I want to take this blog and my Facebook page just as far as I possibly can in terms of readership and influence. I know that I want to write from the heart and touch others in the process.  I know that I want to be as fit and as strong as I possibly can be so that I’m ready for any adventure that life cares to throw at me.  How’s that for a start?

So here’s my why – sharing my journey with others is cathartic, exhilarating and scary all at once.  If  I can help someone else it would make the scary bits worthwhile, and in the meantime I’m enjoying the process, I’m enjoying writing and sharing my insights and learning so much. And right down at the very guts of it all I want to leave a legacy for my kids, one that they will be proud of.  So what’s your why?  Leave a comment, I’d love to know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

