#explore

mountains-863474_1280

 

I’ve been wondering how to continue this blog now I’m home.  How relevant is Adventures Before Dementia now that I am back to everyday life?  Life between travels.  And I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s really relevant, for me anyway.  I figure that if I find meaning in this thinking someone else will also.  I’ve been doing a bit of reflecting lately and I’ve realised that for me life has always been about exploring.  Not necessarily physically exploring (although I’ve done a bit of that in my time) but exploring possibilities, boundaries (oh yeah) and exploring my limits – physically, mentally, spiritually, intellectually.  I love to be learning, doing new stuff and seeing how far I can take it.  To me an integral part of having adventures is exploring.  Hindsight being what it is, I look back and think I’d make some very different choices if I knew then what I know now, but the thread that runs through it all, is that whatever life dished up I looked for the opportunities to explore and grow.

I’m at a stage of my life now where the kids are living their own lives and need very little direct input, the mortgage is under control and I have the luxury of time, energy and experience on my side.  It’s my time to make my mark on the world – until now I’ve focused on marriage, children and career – those things we “should” do as a part of society.  Marriage and children for me have been a raging success, if not always easy!  But career wise I have a load of unfulfilled potential, and at 55 I’m not ready to quietly potter on until retirement – whatever that is.

I believe that there are a lot of people in my situation, post children, post career for whatever reason, with a lot to contribute still, but perhaps undervalued by the mainstream employment market.

So call me a late bloomer, whatever, but this is my time to shine, my time to leave a legacy, my time to push to my absolute limits in every sense. I don’t know how I’m going to do it exactly but I know I will.  What I do know is that I want to create good in the world, encourage more loving kindness, more connectedness and more care for our beautiful planet.  What I do know is that I want to live by these values.  What I do know is that I want to build something good, to push my entrepreneurial limits  and create my own income rather than relying on someone else.  And I will.

So here’s to the process, to enjoying the journey and to adventures!  #explore

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

